Islam Questions and Answers

Start Your Free Trial

Identify the Five Pillars of faith in the Islamic system.

Expert Answers info

pohnpei397 eNotes educator | Certified Educator

calendarEducator since 2009

write35,413 answers

starTop subjects are History, Literature, and Social Sciences

The Five Pillars of Islam are:

  • Faith in the one God.  Muslims are obliged to bear public witness to the idea that there is only one God and that Muhammad is the prophet of God.
  • Prayer.  Muslims must pray five times a day at set times.
  • Charity.  Muslims must give a certain percentage of their wealth to help those who are in need. 
  • Fasting.  Muslims must fast and abstain from various activities during daylight hours during the month of Ramadan.
  • Pilgrimage.  Every Muslim who is financially and physically able to do so must make a pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in their lifetime.

check Approved by eNotes Editorial