Identify the Five Pillars of faith in the Islamic system.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The Five Pillars of Islam are:

  • Faith in the one God.  Muslims are obliged to bear public witness to the idea that there is only one God and that Muhammad is the prophet of God.
  • Prayer.  Muslims must pray five times a day at set times.
  • Charity.  Muslims must give a certain percentage of their wealth to help those who are in need. 
  • Fasting.  Muslims must fast and abstain from various activities during daylight hours during the month of Ramadan.
  • Pilgrimage.  Every Muslim who is financially and physically able to do so must make a pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in their lifetime.
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial