Identify and describe the basic tenets of Islam.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The basic tenets of Islam are called the five pillars of Islam. They are as follows:

The first is professing that there is no God but Allah and that Muhammed is his messenger.

The second is repeating five set prayers at specific times during the day while facing Mecca.

The third is charity. A person is required to give a portion of his or her income each year to help the needy. If an individual does not have much money, he or she can perform charitable acts to help someone more needy.

The fourth is fasting from sunrise to sunset during the month of Ramadan, while being conscious of one's sins.

The fifth is making the hajj or pilgrimage to Mecca at least once during one's lifetime.

In short, the basic tenets of Islam are exclusive faith in Allah and Muhammed; prayer; charitable giving; fasting; and pilgrimage to Mecca.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial