Social Sciences

Start Your Free Trial

Identify and define the various components of spoken language.    

Expert Answers info

M.P. Ossa, M.A. eNotes educator | Certified Educator

briefcaseCollege Lecturer, ESL/TEFL Instructor

bookM.A. from Chapman University

calendarEducator since 2008

write5,680 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, Social Sciences, and Business

There are five accepted components of spoken language which are interdependent of each other, yet, they all have a specific role within the study of language as a system.

The first is the language's structure, or its make-up by the smallest units of sound. The structure of language, along with the way it is meant to be pronounced are studied under the branch of phonology. The smallest units of structure in spoken language are called PHONEMES.

The second component of language is its smallest units of MEANING. The combination of base words and affixes are what make possible the understanding, or comprehension, of the language itself. These smallest units of meaning are called MORPHEMES and are studied...

(The entire section contains 339 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

check Approved by eNotes Editorial