Identify by name each member of the federal (national) cabinet and their department.

Expert Answers
martinjmurphy eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The cabinet consists of the heads of the executive departments and the vice-president.  These cabinet members advise the president on matters that relate to their duties within their offices.  The members of the president’s cabinet and the departments that they belong to are:

  • Vice President of the United States: Joseph R. Biden
  • Department of State: Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton
  • Department of the Treasury: Secretary Timothy F. Geithner
  • Department of Defense: Secretary Robert M. Gates
  • Department of Justice: Attorney General Eric H. Holder, Jr.
  • Department of the Interior: Secretary Kenneth L. Salazar
  • Department of Agriculture: Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack
  • Department of Commerce: Secretary Gary F. Locke
  • Department of Labor: Secretary Hilda L. Solis
  • Department of Health and Human Services: Secretary Kathleen Sebelius
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development: Secretary Shaun L.S. Donovan
  • Department of Transportation: Secretary Ray LaHood
  • Department of Energy: Secretary Steven Chu
  • Department of Education: Secretary Arne Duncan
  • Department of Veterans Affairs: Secretary Eric K. Shinseki
  • Department of Homeland Security: Secretary Janet A. Napolitano

The following positions have the status of Cabinet-rank:

  • White House Chief of Staff: Pete Rouse
  • Environmental Protection Agency: Administrator Lisa P. Jackson
  • Office of Management & Budget: Jeffrey Zients, Acting Director
  • United States Trade Representative: Ambassador Ronald Kirk
  • United States Ambassador to the United Nations: Ambassador Susan Rice
  • Council of Economic Advisers: Chair Austan Goolsbee