How is your PSAT graded when you take it in your sophomore year?

1 Answer | Add Yours

stolperia's profile pic

stolperia | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted on

The PSAT is a standardized test, which means it is written, administered, scored, and interpreted in the same way regardless of where or when it is taken. This allows results from test-takers to be used as reliable data for predicting future academic performance.

The PSAT has three sections: Critical Reading, Math, and Writing Skills. Most questions in all three sections are multiple choice, but there are some questions in the Math section that require test-takers to record answers using a grid.

Each section is scored using a scale of 20 to 80 points, meaning the maximum possible score is 240 points. Computer scoring of the multiple-choice answers and extensive training of scorers for the hand-scored math problems adds consistency and validity to the scoring process.


We’ve answered 319,851 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question