What is covered in the chapters of The Story of My Life by Helen Keller?

Expert Answers
thanatassa eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Story of My Life by Helen Keller is an autobiographical account of the life of a young woman who was deaf and blind. It was published in 1903, when Keller was 22 years old, and consists of 23 chapters, covering her life from the period when she lost her ability to see and hear at the age of 19 months due to an illness through the beginning of her studies at Radcliffe University. The main events of the book are as follows.

Chapters 1-5: Describes Keller's earliest memories of sights and sounds and the illness which caused her to lose her sight and hearing. Next, she describes her initial efforts to communicate through touch and the arrival of her teacher, Anne Sullivan.

Chapters 6-10: Covers Keller's early studies with Sullivan, including her fond memories of outdoor lessons, her enjoyment of a trip to Boston where she meets other blind children, and her delight at experiencing the ocean at Cape Cod.

Chapters 11-15: In these chapters, we discover Keller's first attempts at authorship, and more about her travels and experiences of the world, including a trip to Niagara Falls. At this point, she has decided she wants to learn how to speak, and describes in some detail the way in which she starts learning.

Chapters 16-20: Keller prepares for university by learning Latin, and working out suitable accommodations for the entrance exams.

Chapters 21-23: In the final chapters, Keller describes her enthusiasm for reading and learning, and the opportunities Sullivan's unique style of teaching has opened up for her.

Read the study guide:
The Story of My Life

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question