How many planets are there in the solar system?

Asked on by amy8565

1 Answer | Add Yours

mvcdc's profile pic

mvcdc | Student, Graduate | (Level 2) Associate Educator

Posted on

Currently, there are officially eight planets in our solar system.

These planets are:

  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Earth
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • Neptune

Mercury until Mars are called the Inner Planets, while the rest are the Outer Planets. 

Up until 2006, Pluto was considered as the ninth planet of the Solar System -- this changed after the adaptation of the modern definition of planets.

Also within the solar system are five dwarf planets (recognized by IUA):

  • Pluto (previously the 9th planet)
  • Ceres (between Mars and Jupiter)
  • Haumea (beyond Neptune's orbit)
  • Makemake (in Kupier Belt)
  • Eris (beyond Neptune's orbit)

Other dwarf planets are recognized by other institutions.


We’ve answered 319,828 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question