How many musketeers are there?

As the title suggests, there are three main musketeers in The Three Musketeers named Athos, Porthos, and Aramis. The young D'artagnan is often considered to be a part of the famous group as well.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The Three Musketeers is a historical fiction and adventure novel written by French author Alexandre Dumas père, originally published in 1884. It tells the story of D'artagnan, who is a young man who dreams of becoming a musketeer, just like his father; he decides to go to Paris, hoping to fulfill his dreams, and on the road he meets three musketeers who go by the names of Athos, Porthos and Aramis.

As he is in a rush to meet with the musketeers'...

(The entire section contains 233 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Last Updated by eNotes Editorial on