How many layers are in the earth?  

Asked on by djk

2 Answers | Add Yours

cburr's profile pic

cburr | Middle School Teacher | (Level 2) Associate Educator

Posted on

Within the mantle, there are also different layers or sub-layers.

The inner mantle (next to the outer core) is semi-rigid, and flows very slowly.

The asthenosphere (lower) part of the upper mantle flows and is where magma comes from in a volcano.

The top portion of the upper mantle (next to the crust) is rigid and rocky.

This rocky top portion of the upper mantle is often grouped with the crust and called the lithosphere.

marlon0607's profile pic

marlon0607 | Student, Grade 11 | (Level 1) Honors

Posted on

The earth has four layers: the crust, mantle, inner core, and outer core.

We’ve answered 320,053 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question