Segregation and the Civil Rights Movement

Start Free Trial

How many Civil Rights Acts have there been?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The Civil Rights Act of 1964 is perhaps that most well known of the federal civil rights acts. However, it is only one of eight total acts of its kind.

The first civil rights act was passed in 1866, which granted equal rights under the law to all people within the jurisdiction of the United States. This was done in order to protect the newly emancipated class of former slaves. Two years later, the 14th Amendment further strengthened this act by enshrining its principles into the Constitution itself.

The next civil rights act was passed in 1871. Commonly referred to as the Enforcement Act, this law was aimed to protect African Americans from acts of racial violence. It permitted the president to suspend the writ of habeus corpus when combating white supremacist groups.

The Civil Rights Act of 1875 was passed to protect the rights of African Americans in public spaces.

The Civil Rights Act of 1957 was the first of the Civil Rights Era. It was passed by Congress to create a Civil Rights Division...

(The entire section contains 3 answers and 869 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Last Reviewed by eNotes Editorial on