How are each of the seven deadly sins demonstarted in the story?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Prince Prospero exhibits the deadly sin of pride. Despite the fact that his country has lost half its inhabitants, he thinks that, because of his wealth and resources, he will be able to protect himself from the plague sweeping the kingdom:

When his dominions were half depopulated, he summoned to his presence a thousand hale and light-hearted friends from among the knights and dames of his court, and with these retired to the deep seclusion of one of his castellated abbeys.

They weld the gates shut so that no one can get in or out. "With such precautions, [he believed,] the courtiers might bid defiance to contagion." He proudly thinks that, even when others cannot, he can escape death. He is, of course, wrong. I think we can also use this example to demonstrate his greed . Rather than stay and try to help his countrymen as best he can, and as a good leader ought, Prospero cares only about saving his own life and the lives of his friends. He feels that "The external world can take care of...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 832 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team