How did the three mainland regions in British North America; New England, the Middle colonies, and the South, become more like one another between 1720 and 1750? 

Expert Answers
saintfester eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The British American colonies could be divided up into three distinct cultural regions; New England, Middle, and Southern. Although the Middle Colonies began to take on aspects of their closest neighbors and the three regions began to communicate more as tensions with England rose, there were fundamental differences between North and South that only evaporated in the late 19th century.

New Englanders was a hub of maritime trade and transport. The ship building industry along with the timber and fishing industries ruled the local economies. In the south, plantation style agriculture brought in vast amounts of wealth for landowners. Their entire societies were built around these very different systems, so culturally there were few similarities between the two regions.

The only similarities that could really be sited were in local governance. The distance from England combined with a hands-off Parliament allowed for a greater degree of self-rule than anywhere else in the world. Colonists were allowed to pass their own taxes and create their own local assemblies, and this did lead to similar laws and measures being passed throughout the colonies.