The Middle Colonies

Start Free Trial

How did the Dutch colony of New Netherland turn into the British colonies of New York and New Jersey?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The Dutch colony of New Netherland became the English colonies of New York and New Jersey through military conquest and through treaties.

New Netherland was created as a Dutch colony in the 1610s.  At this point, there was very little British presence in what is now the United States.  Over the next 50 years, the British presence grew.  When the Restoration of the Stuart monarchy happened in 1660, the British became more aggressive about colonial expansion and consolidation in North America.  This led to a British expedition in 1664 that attacked and conquered New Netherland.  The newly won territory became the colony of New York, which later split to become New York and New Jersey.

From 1664, these territories remained British almost continually.  They were briefly retaken by the Dutch but the colony was then returned to Britain by treaty.  From 1674 on, what had once been New Netherland was to be British on a permanent basis.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team