How is a bean seed different from a maize seed in terms of the number of cotyledons?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Flowering plants are divided into two major groups, the dicots and the monocots. The names of the two groups are based on the number of cotyledons found in the seed embryo. Cotyledons are the seed leaves produced by the embryo. Monocot seeds contain one cotyledon. Dicot seeds contain two cotyledons. 

Bean seeds are members of the dicot group and therefore have two cotyledonsMaize seeds are members of the monocot group and therefore have one cotyledon

Monocot and dicot seeds are also different in several other ways:


  • have pollen with a single pore
  • have flower parts in multiples of three
  • have parallel leaf veins
  • have scattered stem vascular bundles
  • show an absence of secondary growth


  • have pollen with three pores
  • have flower parts in multiples of four or five
  • have reticulated leaf veins
  • have vascular bundles in a ring
  • show the presence of secondary growth

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team