The Hopper award for Outstanding Young Computer Professionals is awarded in whose memory?

Expert Answers
parkerlee eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Hopper award is in memory of Admiral Dr. Grace Murray Hopper, a female Yale graduate (doctorate in mathematics,1934) and brilliant pioneer in computer programming. She was an associate professor at Vassar until 1943, when she joined the US Naval Reserve. She was assigned diverse positions at Harvard University in engineering and applied physics. In 1949 she became Senior Mathematician for the Eckert-Mauchly Computer Corporation (later known as the Sperry Corporation).

After only seven months of retirement, Murray returned to active duty as Rear Admiral of the Naval Data Automation Command. When she retired (again!) in 1986, she became a senior consultant to Digital Equipment Corporation. There she worked to an advanced age; she died on New Year's Day, 1992:

During her lifetime as a leader in the field of software development concepts, she contributed to the transition from primitive programming techniques to the use of sophisticated compilers. She believed that "we've always done it that way" was not necessarily a good reason to continue to do so.
ladyvols1 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Grace Murray Hopper Award is given to the outstanding young computer professional of the year. This person is selected on the basis of a single recent major technical or service contribution. This award is accompanied by a prize of $35,000. The candidate must have been 35 years of age or less at the time the qualifying contribution was made. Financial support of the Grace Murray Hopper Award is provided by Google.  In 2007 the recipient was Dr. Vern Paxson's PhD, for his work in measuring and characterizing the Internet.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question