Who was the first president of Nepal?

Expert Answers
justaguide eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Nepal is a small nation in Asia which had been a monarchy since it was constituted in 1768 when Prithvi Narayan Shah unified several smaller kingdoms to create the nation.

The 1990s saw a lot of opposition to the monarchy, with a civil war initiated by the Communist Party of Nepal and several other parties joining in later. In 2005, an agreement was reached between the different parties opposing monarchy and a new constitution was created which resulted in the removal of the last monarch Gyanendra Shah.

Nepal was converted from being a monarchy to a federal multiparty representative democratic republic in 28 May 2008.

The first President of Nepal was Ram Baran Yadav who was sworn in on the 23rd of July 2008.

pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

I assume that you are askihg for the name of the first president of Nepal.  I have changed your question to show that.

To date, Nepal has in fact had only one president.  His name is Dr. Ram Baran Yadav and he has been president since he was elected in 2008.  He is the first president of the country because prior to 2008 the country did not have such an office.  Prior to 2008, Nepal was a monarchy.  It had been a monarchy for over 300 years.  The last king of Nepal agreed to give up his power in response to a movment pushing for democracy in the country.  This happened in 2006.  By 2008, the country had been declared a republic and a president was elected.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question