Reference Questions and Answers

Start Your Free Trial

Fifteen states have adopted legislative term limits. Fifteen states have adopted them, including Arkansas, Florida, and Louisiana in the South. What type of legislative term limits have been adopted?

The fifteen states that have adopted legislative term limits have imposed two types of term limits: lifetime and consecutive. Lifetime term limits restrict the length of time a legislator can serve in the House of Representatives or Senate during their lifetime. Consecutive term limits restrict the number of consecutive years that a legislator can serve in either the House or the Senate, but allow the legislator to be re-elected after a period of time out of office.

Expert Answers info

David Alberts, Ph.D. eNotes educator | Certified Educator

briefcaseCollege Professor, Professional Writer

bookB.A. from Kent State University

bookM.A. from West Virginia State University

bookPh.D. from Bowling Green State University

calendarEducator since 2019

write760 answers

starTop subjects are Literature, History, and Science

According to the National Council of State Legislatures (NCSL), there are currently 15 states which have adopted term limits for legislators elected to their Houses of Representatives (congresspersons) and their Senates (senators).

There are two types of term limits: lifetime and consecutive.

A lifetime term limit imposes a restriction on the total time that a legislator can serve as a congressperson and/or senator in their lifetime. Six states impose lifetime term limits (AR, CA NV, MI, MO, OK), ranging from a limit of 6 years in the House and 8 in the Senate (MI), to a total of 12 years in the House and/or Senate (NV), and 16 years total (AZ).

Once a legislator reaches the lifetime limit, they...

(The entire section contains 357 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now