Federal Trade Commission (FTC)

Start Free Trial

What are some of the division in the Federal Trade Commission’s Bureau of Consumer Protection?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

As can be seen in this link, the Bureau of Consumer Protection in the Federal Trade Commission has seven divisions.  These divisions include:

  • Advertising Practices
  • Financial Practices
  • Marketing Practices

These first three are the ones that are most directly involved in consumer protection as they are meant to protect consumers from various sorts of fraudulent practices.  This is backed up by the division for

  • Enforcement 

which is in charge of litigation and of liaison with law enforcement agencies when criminal prosecutions are called for.

Finally, there are three divisions that are more educational or preventive instead of being focused on things that businesses have already done wrong.  They are:

  • Consumer and Business Education
  • Planning and Information
  • Privacy and Identity Protection
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team