Explain the whole meiosis? pls helps greatly appreciated  

orchid101 | Student

Meiosis consists of two cell divisions which take place one after the other, during which the number of chromosomes is halved. The two divisions are known as the first meiotic division and the second meiotic division. The first meiotic division has the same stages as mitosis. These stages are known as prophase I, prometaphase I, metaphase I, anaphase I and telophase I. Except for prophase, the other stages are similar to those of mitosis. Following telophase I is a period of interkinesis or rest. The second meiotic division consists of prophase II, metaphase II, anaphase II and telophase II. There are three types of meiosis, zygotic or initial meiosis, gametic or terminal meiosis and sporic or indeterminate meiosis.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question