Explain the three different types of plant life cycles 

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Plant's life cycle starts with its germination, continues on during reproduction and finally ends with its death. Depending upon the time required to complete these life processes, the life cycle of plants can be divided into:

  • Annual: A life cycle is called annual if the plant can complete all the life processes in one single growing season. Flowering plants are a common example. Such plants may have a short life cycle (only spring or winter) or may flower for multiple seasons before dying.
  • Perennial: These plants live for 3 or more years. Perennials include plants that may live for only 4 years and also the ones that may live for 100 or more years.  
  • Biennials: These plants take 2 years (or 2 growing seasons) to complete their life processes. In one season, they may grow leaves (and store energy without flowering) and in the next season, they will flower, set their seeds and die. 

Hope this helps.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team
Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial