Explain the three metabolic processes of cellular respiration—glycolysis, the tricarboxylic acid cycle (TCA), and oxidative phosphorylation—in a flow chart format. Include other ways the body breaks down nutrients into usable products together with the process of lipolysis and how triglycerides are stored and used in the body; how protease enzymes break down proteins; the deamination of amino acids; and how ammonia is converted to urea.

Glycolysis is a metabolic process of cellular respiration which breaks down glucose in order to generate energy. The TCA cycle (tricarboxylic acid cycle) is a metabolic cycle in which the acetyl coenzyme A is oxidized for the purpose of energy production. Oxidative phosphorylation is a metabolic process in which adenosine triphosphate (ATP) is synthesized.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are three main processes of cellular respiration: glycolysis, the citric acid cycle (CAC) and the oxidative phosphorylation. In the process of glycolysis, one molecule of glucose is broken down to two three-carbon molecules known as pyruvate molecules, two hydrogen ions and two molecules of water.

The second stage of cellular respiration is characterized by the citric acid cycle (CAC), also known as the tricarboxylic acid cycle (TCA) or the Krebs cycle. After glycolysis, the pyruvate molecule is converted into acetyl coenzyme A (acetyl-CoA) and enters the citric acid cycle; though a series of chemical reactions, the acetate is then oxidized into...

(The entire section contains 323 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Last Updated by eNotes Editorial on