What is the social impact or social value of each of the five pillars of faith in the Islam system?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

To look at the pillars of Islam is to see some interesting similarities between this rapidly growing religion and other religions, particularly Christianity, in terms of social justice and commitment to a single deity.  The first pillar, known as the "Shahada", is a profession of faith in a single god, and his messenger, Mohammad.  In fact, reciting a statement that professes these things is part of the required daily prayer ritual.  The second pillar of Islam refers to five required daily prayers, performed at different times of day, but collectively known as "Salat".  The third pillar is reminiscient of the words of Jesus of Nazareth regarding the poor, as Muslims are expected to give charitably as much as possible to those in need.  This practice is called the "Zakat".  Fasting from dawn to dusk during Ramadan is a fourth pillar, and is intended to elicit thoughtful repentance and recommitment to Allah and Muhammad, and the final pillar requires that the follower of Islam make at least one pilgrimage to Mecca during his or her lifetime. 


Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

Posted on

Soaring plane image

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial