What is the division of a cell's cytoplasm called?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The division of a cell's cytoplasm is called cytokinesis. Cytokinesis is the last stage of mitosis. Mitosis is a form of asexual cellular division. 

Mitosis consists of four stages: prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase. The acronym PMAT is often used to remember the order of these stages. 

Right before mitosis occurs (during interphase, the phase in which the cell spends the majority of its life), the DNA replicates. Replication of DNA is needed in order to maintain the number of chromosomes of the parent cell (original cell) after the cell divides.  During prophase, the DNA condenses into chromosomes and the nuclear envelope begins to disappear. During metaphase, the chromosomes line up at the middle (metaphase plate) of the cell. The chromosomes pull apart from one another during anaphase. Finally, during telophase the cell begins to pinch inward in the middle, the chromosomes begin to unwind, and two nuclei begin to form. Although not technically a part of mitosis, cytokinesis is a stage of the cell cycle the cuts the cell furrow in order to cut the parent cell into two daughter (new) cells. 

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial