Discuss the differences between woody dicots (trees), herbaceous (non-woody dicots, and herbaceous (non-woody) monocots.

Expert Answers
jerichorayel eNotes educator| Certified Educator

Monocotyledon and dicotyledons are examples of cotyledons which is the embryonic leaf in for the seed-bearing plants. To differentiate the two kinds of cotyledons, it would be better if to define them. Monocot has single cotyledons in the embryo, dicot has two. Monocot has single pore, dicot has three pores in their pollen grains. The flowers that monocot plants produce formed in multiples of three while that of dicot plats forms a multiple of four or five. The major leaf veins of monocot plants are parallel; the dicot plants have reticulated major leaf veins. Monocots have scattered vascular bundles, dicot has ringed vascular bundles. Roots of monocots are adventitious while the dicot forms from the radicle. Dicots do secondary growth while monocots don’t. Examples of monocots are bamboo, orchid, and palm while examples of dicots are rose, oak and pea. 

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question