Did the Articles of Confederation create a three-branch government at the national level?  

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The Articles of Confederation did not create a national government with three branches. The government featured a Congress, with one delegation from each of the thirteen states. Each year, a president was chosen from the members of Congress to serve as President of that body. But the Articles provided for no independent executive with powers anything like that of the President created by the Constitution. There also was no independent judiciary (court system) at the national level. This was part of the general antipathy and fear of centralized government that characterized the Articles as a whole. The government created by the Articles was a "firm league of friendship" according to its framers, not a unified federal republic like that created by the Constitution. So in essence, there was really only one branch of government--the legislative branch--and even its powers were quite limited and proved nearly impossible to enforce throughout the thirteen states.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial