Describe the special dietary requirements of three types of vegetarians

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are many different types of vegetarians and their diet varies based on how far they are willing to go in their abstinence from foods that are now part of regular diets.

Some of the several types of vegetarians are:

Fruitarians: They adopt a diet that only consists of fruits, seeds, nuts and other products obtained from plants which do not harm the plant. No product sourced from animals in any way is consumed by fruitarians.

Vegans: Vegans eat all products sourced from plants, but strictly restrain themselves from any animal product which includes dairy products, eggs, honey and the alike.

Lacto-ovo vegetarians: People who follow this form of vegetarianism make eggs and all dairy products like milk and cheese part of their diet. They do not consume animal meat and products derived by killing animals.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial