Describe the formation of 2 secondary spermatocytes?

2 Answers

jerichorayel's profile pic

jerichorayel | College Teacher | (Level 2) Senior Educator

Posted on

The spermatocyte is the cell developed from spermatogonium during spermatogenesis. We have two types of spermatocytes, the primary and the secondary spermatocytes. Generally the secondary spermatocyte comes from a diploid primary spermatocyte which undergoes meiotic cell division, producing two haploid cells. That two haploid cells or the secondary spermatocytes will continually divide to form spermatids and then spermatozoa or the sperm cells. 

The primary spermatocytes is diploid meaning, they have two complete sets of chromosomes (2n). The secondary spermatocytes are haploid which contains half the number of chromosomes as diploid (n).  

orchid101's profile pic

orchid101 | College Teacher | (Level 1) Associate Educator

Posted on

Each primary spermatocyte undergoes two successive division, called maturation division. The first maturation division is meiotic. Hence the primary spermatocyte divides into two haploid daughter cells called secondary spermatocytes. Both secondary spermatocytes now undergo second maturation division which is mitotic in nature to form, four haploid spermatids. The formation of spermatids into spermatozoa is called spermiogenesis or spermateliosis. The spermatozoa are later known as sperms. During this phase spermatids undergo modification in form and changes in the relative position. Spermatogenesis occurs in the seminiferous tubules of the testes. Spermatogenesis includes formation of spermatids and spermatozoa.