What were the different regions of English colonial America during the 1700s? How can each region be described in terms of religion, economics, government, and culture?

Expert Answers
Tamara K. H. eNotes educator| Certified Educator

In the 1700s, the colonies in America were divided into three different regions: "the New England colonies, the Middle colonies, and the Southern colonies" ("American Colonial Life"). The three different regions differed significantly in terms of climate, geography, natural resources, industries, government structure, and even religion. Due to limits in space, below are some ideas to help get you started.

The Middle Colonies consisted of Pennsylvania, Delaware, New York, and New Jersey. All four colonies had either royal or proprietary governments. Both the New York and New Jersey colonies had royal governments, which means that the rulers of the colony were appointed by the King of England. Royal colonies were ruled by a "royal governor and council" ("Royal Colonies").

Both the Delaware and Pennsylvania colonies were proprietary colonies, which means that the King of England "granted governing rights" to "one or more proprietors" of the colony ("Proprietary Colonies"). The term proprietor simply refers to one who owns the property.  

The middle colonies also consisted of a mix of different religions. The colonies granted religious freedom to Quakers, Catholics, Lutherans, Jews, etc. ("Middle Colonies").