The death penalty is not currently legal in what states?

Expert Answers
pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

As of right now, there are 19 states, in addition to the District of Columbia, that do not have the death penalty. Seven of these states have banned the death penalty just since 2007.

The states (in alphabetical order) that do not have the death penalty at this point are the following:

  • Alaska
  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

In addition to these states, which have actually banned the death penalty, there are another four states that have not officially banned capital punishment but whose governors have declared a moratorium on the practice. These states are the following:

  • Colorado
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Washington

Of the states that do have the death penalty, Texas executes many more prisoners than any other while Oklahoma has the most executions per capita.  Please follow the link below to see a map of the states that do and do not have capital punishment.