Abrahamic Religions

Compare and contrast Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.

Christianity, Islam, and Judaism have many similarities and many differences. They are all Abrahamic religions and worship the same God. Each religion requires its followers to adhere to a certain moral code and show devotion to God through prayer. One area of difference is in their view of Jesus Christ. Christians believe Jesus to be the messiah and son of God. Muslims consider him to be a prophet, though they do not believe in his resurrection. In Judaism, Jesus is not believed to be the messiah or the son of God.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Islam, Judaism, and Christianity are considered Abrahamic religions. This means that they all worship the god of Abraham. Because of language differences, they call God by different names, but they are one and the same. They believe that God is the creator of the universe. The three faiths are all fiercely monotheistic. All three religions also originated from southwest Asia. Judaism and Christianity originated from present-day Israel. Adherents of the three faiths believe that there are prophets that God has sent to teach the people. Judaism, Christianity, and Islam share many of the same stories of prophets in their holy books. All three religions believe that followers are required to obey a moral code that have been presented by the prophets. Judaism, Islam, and Christianity all consider Jerusalem an important holy site, but for different reasons.

There are key differences between the three Abrahamic religions. Christians believe that Jesus was God incarnate and the messiah that...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 667 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team