Can someone put I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings in a timeline order of important that happened in her life? What are the main events that made Maya who she was?

Expert Answers
lynnebh eNotes educator| Certified Educator

You should go back over the novel, chapter by chapter, and refresh your memory as to what happens in each chapter.

You can divide the novel into three main time periods: Stamps, St. Louis, San Francisco.

The novel begins at the time that Maya and Bailey go to Stamps, Arkansas, to live with Momma and Uncle Willie. What happens to Maya during this time period? How does her uncle and aunt treat her and her brother? How does this affect her growing up? How did it affect her relationship with her brother?

Then Maya lives for a time in St. Louis, Missouri. What happens to her there? How is this city different than her rural live in Stamps? Does it change her character?

Maya lives in San Francisco next. How does she wind up going there? What is her life like? What happens to her? What good things, what bad? How does this affect her life?

You can use the helpful information here on eNotes to job your memory about how something happens to Maya during each of these periods to affect her both in a positive and negative way. Also, if you do a search online for "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings" + Timeline, you will find that several other people have already done a timeline on this novel and they are willing to share their work with other scholars. Good luck.

Read the study guide:
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question