In Calvino's "Invisible Cities," there are eleven categories which include different cities. What are the reasons for the names of the categories?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Italo Calvino's works are generally fabulist. Fabulism, broadly speaking, is a form of magical realism in which fantastical elements are placed in an everyday setting.

That being said, Invisible Cities is less a catalogue of cities than a reimagining of cities, or a conjuring of places which reflect and/or contort certain concepts. Marco Polo is not really giving Kublai Khan a detailed account of his own empire, and the great Emperor is quite aware of this ("'Your cities do not exist'" [pg. 59]). Rather, the two men are discussing ideas and possibilities; they are creating an imagined empire,...

(The entire section contains 303 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team