Greek Mythology

Start Free Trial

Based on myth, compare the qualities of Uranus, Cronus, and Zeus. Are these qualities similar to the god or gods of other religions?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Uranus, Cronus (also spelled Cronos or Kronos), and Zeus represent three generations of Greek gods. They are mentioned in many different literary and mythological works, but the most detailed extant account of their succession and histories is Hesiod's Theogony (eighth or seventh century BC). This work attempts to synthesize various traditions about the gods into a coherent, chronologically organized narrative.

Uranus is the oldest of the gods: the father of Cronus and grandfather of Zeus. He represents the heavens and is the most primitive of the three deities, being less anthropomorphic and more a force of nature than the other three.

Cronus is one of the twelve Titans, children of Uranus and Gaia (the earth goddess). They represent an intermediate generation of deities—somewhat more anthropomorphic than the previous generation but still representing an earlier and less developed stage in Greek religion. Cronus is King of the Titans and is portrayed as powerful and brutal.

Zeus, son of Cronos, is one of the Olympian deities and is fully anthropomorphic. Unlike the earlier gods, he is portrayed as a god of justice who is concerned with morality as well as power.

These gods are unlike the gods of the Abrahamic religions in being part of polytheistic religions and in being anthropomorphic rather than transcendent.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team