In The Bluest Eye, explain the division of the book into the four seasons. 

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The Bluest Eye is divided into four seasons in order to portray the passage of time while using nonchronological narration. The book is not linear because it is not focused on plot—here, Morrison is much more interested in character, theme, and language. But time still needs to pass in order for a story to be told; even one that is not told chronologically still has a chronology.

We know from the beginning of the book, before the seasonal sections even start, that Pecola will become pregnant by her father and lose the baby. The four seasonal sections that follow allow the sequence of events leading there to unfold chronologically, keeping the passage of time steady even as we travel back in time to Cholly's and Pauline's past lives. The main thread of the story, the one that follows Claudia, remains with the seasons, even as the narration goes back and forth through time.

If not for the seasonal sections, the reader might lose the chronological sequence of events entirely. As it is, the...

(The entire section contains 2 answers and 537 words.)

Unlock This Answer Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this answer and thousands more. Enjoy eNotes ad-free and cancel anytime.

Start your 48-Hour Free Trial
Approved by eNotes Editorial Team