Social Sciences

Start Free Trial

According to Erickson, how are the different stage conflicts resolved?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

According to Erik Erikson  psychological, epigenetic and social development theory there are eight (8) developmental stages through which humans go that present them with both a task, a conflict, and a resolution.

In this theory Erikson proposes that, in order to experience complete fulfillment and in order to be able to go to the next stage of development, the task that is at hand in the stage must be fulfilled. This is basically what "stage conflict resolution" stands for: the completion of the task.

Although this may sound minimalistic and simplistic, there is a lot of depth to this axiom. For example, a person who fails to complete the tasks requested of the second stage of adulthood (generativity vs. stagnation), will feel weakened and insecure later on in life and will develop a cruel sense of bitterness that is typical of people who are repressed psychologically.

The task of that specific stage is to try and be productive in any area, be creative, and feel as an active participant of something greater. If a person refuses to change their lifestyle and proceed to a life of stagnation, the negative outcome will be precisely that.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team