Pierre Magnan Analysis


(Masterpieces of Fiction, Detective and Mystery Edition)

Pierre Magnan’s reputation as a writer of detective fiction is based predominantly on the literary qualities of his crime novels rather than the ingenuity of his plots or the machismo or the eccentricity of his protagonists. He is above all a Provençal author, in the tradition of Henri Bosco, Marcel Pagnol, and particularly his friend and mentor, Jean Giono. Magnan turned to detective fiction only to support himself at a time when he was unemployed and unable to sell his more traditional regionalist novels. He set out to create a synthesis between his historical-regional fiction and the more lucrative detective novel. Because Magnan’s Laviolette novels incorporate features of all the subgenres of crime fiction, it makes it difficult to assign his work to any single subgenre.

The law enforcement positions of Laviolette and Chabrand and the use of scientific police apparatus (though often maligned) makes the novels police procedurals. However, the superior acumen and the eccentricity of both Laviolette and Chabrand suggest the orthodox detective novel. In addition, the abundant descriptions of sex and violence, combined with Oedipal motifs; the frequent empathy with the perpetrators of the crimes; and the subliminal leftist political messages evoke the French roman noir and film noir of the post-World War II years. Laviolette thus is a earthier, darker, and less domesticated Inspector Maigret figure.

Magnan’s national and international...

(The entire section is 402 words.)

Pierre Magnan Bibliography

(Masterpieces of Fiction, Detective and Mystery Edition)

Blaha, Franz. “Detective/Mystery/Spy Fiction.” In Handbook of French Popular Culture, edited by Pierre L. Horn. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. Brief survey of detective and spy fiction in France, with a wealth of historical and critical sources.

Montgomery, Isobel. Review of Death in the Truffle Wood, by Pierre Magnan. The Guardian, September 3, 2005, p. 24. A brief review of the novel that praises Magnan’s creation of atmosphere and his use of humor.

Priestman, Martin, ed. The Cambridge Companion to Crime Fiction. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003. Contains a chapter on French crime fiction, which provides background information on the genre in France.

Steinberg, Sybil S. Review of The Murdered House, by Pierre Magnan. Publishers Weekly 247, no. 31 (July 31, 2000): 72. Calls Magnan’s novel a “darkly compelling” story of obsession involving Seraphin Monge, an orphan who discovers that his entire family was murdered, leaving only himself, then a three-week-old infant, alive, and tries to find the real killers.

Verdaguer, Pierre. “Fictionalizing Proust.” Contemporary French and Francophone Studies 9, no. 2 (April, 2005): 165-173. An informative essay on Proustian references, allusions, and imitations in French popular fiction, including a brief reference to Magnan.

Verdaguer, Pierre. La Seduction policière: Signes de croissance d’un genre repute mineur: Pierre Magnan, Daniel Pennac, et quelques autres. Birmingham, Ala.: Summa Publications, 1999. The most extensive scholarly study of Magnan’s detective fiction, describing the author as a passéist, or regional writer. Excellent notes with an extensive, up-to-date bibliography. In French.