(Masterpieces of Fiction, Detective and Mystery Edition)

Anne Morice’s twenty-one novels featuring amateur sleuth Tessa Crichton Price, the loquacious narrator, have been described as offering “sneaky endings, civilized middles and comfortable beginnings, which tell you in a page or two that you’re in the company of a classic detective-story writer.” Following in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh, Morice placed her characters in confined settings and examined the reality of psychological turmoil hovering beneath a facade of social harmony. Misled by skillfully placed red herrings, the reader can verify in reflection that the author faithfully provided the clues necessary to successful detection. Morice expanded the “puzzle” technique to include commentary on writing itself, creating, in essence, the metamystery. Her style simulates conversation, conveying essential information in skillful dialogue that reveals her interest in the theater. Her mysteries lend credence to the genre as a medium of social, psychological, and literary commentary.

Anne Morice Bibliography

(Masterpieces of Fiction, Detective and Mystery Edition)

Alderson, Martha, and Neysa Chouteau. “Anne Morice.” In And Then There Were Nine: More Women of Mystery, edited by Jane S. Bakerman. Bowling Green, Ohio: Bowling Green State University Popular Press, 1985. Study of the life and work of Morice, who is discussed alongside Patricia Highsmith and Daphne du Maurier, among other famous “women of mystery.”

Klein, Kathleen Gregory, ed. Great Women Mystery Writers: Classic to Contemporary. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. Contains an essay on Morice detailing her life and works.

Library Journal. Review of Getting Away with Murder? by Anne Morice. 110, no. 1 (January 1, 1985): 105. Reviewer finds this Tessa Crichton series novel about a two-year-old murder to be well-written but somewhat slow.

Library Journal. Review of Murder in Mimicry, by Anne Morice. 102, no. 9 (May 1, 1977): 1047. Review of a Tess Crichton series novel that finds the actress in Washington, D.C., is described as entertaining and fun.

Morice, Anne. Interview. The Mystery FANcier 6 (November/December, 1982): 5-8. Brief but revealing interview with the author, discussing her mysteries and her approach to writing.