Homework Help

Your opinions to Shakespeare's playReflect freely your opinions of Shakespeare's play.

user profile pic

xukachan2ne1 | Student, Grade 9 | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted May 14, 2012 at 11:01 PM via web

dislike 3 like
Your opinions to Shakespeare's play

Reflect freely your opinions of Shakespeare's play.

9 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

literaturenerd | High School Teacher | (Level 2) Educator Emeritus

Posted May 14, 2012 at 11:06 PM (Answer #2)

dislike 0 like

I must say that I absolutely love Shakespeare's plays. While some may say that they are outdated, I believe that if one looks at the themes, the plays are still relevant. I think many people struggle with the plays because of the language. If people would take time to understand the language, they would get much more out of it.

user profile pic

rrteacher | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted May 14, 2012 at 11:58 PM (Answer #3)

dislike 0 like

I like some much more than others. I love almost all of his tragedies, especially King Lear, Macbeth, and Hamlet, and I find his comedies. I have never been able to get into his histories very much. I didn't like Romeo and Juliet much when I was in high school, but on subsequent readings, I've come to appreciate the nuances a bit more. I think most of his plays are like that, they require multiple readings, and, as the previous response notes, a willingness to get past the language, which can be daunting.

user profile pic

litteacher8 | Middle School Teacher | (Level 1) Distinguished Educator

Posted May 15, 2012 at 12:58 AM (Answer #4)

dislike 0 like

What I like best about Shakespeare’s plays is that they are all so different.  At my school we choose and perform a different play each year.  It has been so much fun to get to know all of these plays.  I think comparing different plays over four years also helps our students to get a deeper appreciation for Shakespeare and identify the running themes as well as the differences in these plays.  Not many authors are so versatile!

user profile pic

bullgatortail | High School Teacher | (Level 1) Distinguished Educator

Posted May 15, 2012 at 1:36 AM (Answer #5)

dislike 0 like

You don't say which play. Several are among the greatest ever written: My favorites are A Midsummer Night's Dream, The Tempest, Macbeth and Hamlet. The histories, such as Henry IV, Part One and Richard II and III, are without equal. AMND is one of the best shows to be seen on stage. And Shakespeare's many great characters--Macbeth, Othello, Hamlet, Falstaff, Sir Toby Belch--are some of the most vivid in all theatre.

user profile pic

jihyunkim67 | High School Teacher | (Level 1) Assistant Educator

Posted May 15, 2012 at 5:07 AM (Answer #6)

dislike 0 like

Since you didn't specify either written or performed, my inclination is to turn to the shorter plays, not merely from the fact that they are shorter, but students are able to remember so much more from a shorter play, and thus experience "more" Shakespeare. The longer the play, the less taken seriously it becomes. Especially with Hamlet, there are now versions called "the essence of Hamlet" and the "essential" Hamlet. I never stop hearing from students "Can you tell us the important parts?" as if Shakespeare wrote "inferior" parts on purpose and some sections d o not matter. With his shorter plays, Shakespeare packs more into them, the action moves along at a rapid pace, and the suspense never dies. And, with witches, magic, sword fights, how can one go wrong?

user profile pic

mwalter822 | Teacher | (Level 2) Educator

Posted May 15, 2012 at 11:29 AM (Answer #7)

dislike 0 like

I have something of a love/hate relationship with Shakespeare. I really enjoy a lot of his magnificent lines and figurative passages. But then I get bogged down in passages that are very difficult to follow. These wouldn't have been such a challenge in Shakespeare's day of course.

I think I would have to say that Hamlet and Macbeth are my favorites.

user profile pic

lmetcalf | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Senior Educator

Posted May 15, 2012 at 4:41 PM (Answer #8)

dislike 0 like

If you are asking for discussion of a specific play you should post that title in your request. I certainly have my favorites -- a couple from each genre, but I think the overall appreciation of his plays comes from the amazing language. It is both such a challenge and such a reward to work on and then understand what Shakespeare wrote and I am always finding new tidbits to understand each time a I read a play.

user profile pic

cammie2012 | Student, Grade 9 | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted May 15, 2012 at 8:49 PM (Answer #9)

dislike 0 like

Thank you for the interesting responses and sorry if my question made you confused. The question is basically your opinions to any of Shakespeare's plays.

user profile pic

acompanioninthetardis | Student, Undergraduate | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted May 28, 2014 at 8:20 PM (Answer #10)

dislike 0 like

I love Shakespeare plays, there are usually several reoccurring themes that i love. Such as the fool being one of the only wise people in the play and the main character usually bring a fool. there's also many great themes in his comedies, and tragedies i could go on forever but ill simply keep it short. 

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes