Homework Help

In your opinion who are the top 10 people that changed the world?tell me who like...

user profile pic

demon300 | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted June 12, 2012 at 7:56 PM via web

dislike 3 like
In your opinion who are the top 10 people that changed the world?

tell me who

like gavrilo princip-started wwi,which led to ww2,and the cold war and many other things

or st paul-spread christianity

i dont know but tell me what they did too

37 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

rrteacher | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted June 12, 2012 at 8:42 PM (Answer #2)

dislike 1 like

I'll throw a few in in no particular order. Most of these stimulated religious, intellectual, or cultural change:

  • Jesus
  • Muhammad
  • Plato
  • Gutenberg
  • Luther
  • Paul
  • Newton
  • Galileo
  • Einstein
  • Marx
  • Locke
user profile pic

e-martin | High School Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted June 12, 2012 at 10:21 PM (Answer #3)

dislike 1 like

The above list is a great place to start. Those thinkers certainly changed the world intellectually, politically, and socially. We might also look to some scientists, engineers and inventors who have changed the world in more practical ways.

Thomas Edison helped change the world with electricity and the light bulb. Alexander Graham Bell helped with the telephone. Even Bill Gates helped to shape the world we live in with his work on personal computers. 

user profile pic

pohnpei397 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted June 12, 2012 at 11:36 PM (Answer #4)

dislike 1 like

I agree with everything posted so far.  But we should also look at people who changed the world for the worse.  The two most obvious candidates for this are Hitler and Stalin, perpetrators of two of the worst mass killing sprees ever.  They changed the way we think about the world we live in.

user profile pic

najm1947 | Elementary School Teacher | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted June 14, 2012 at 5:49 PM (Answer #5)

dislike 1 like

I would go with the list by Rrteacher (post #2) and put Mohammad on the top.

Pohnpei has an interesting post above suggesting to look for the worst too. Hitler and Stalin are reasonable candidates for the mass killings. However he has conveniently forgotten to include the American regimes in past twenty years or so that has destabilised the world, disrupted peace and brought misery & sufferings to Muslims in the name of WMDs, so called war on terror and preemptive strikes resulting in massive killings of Muslims and American/Allies soldiers.

user profile pic

mwestwood | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted June 17, 2012 at 4:11 AM (Answer #6)

dislike 1 like

Sigmund Freud and Charles Darwin cannot be left off the list of top influential people who wrought change. With his analysis of dreams as a method to crack the human psyche, Freud was much ahead of his time.  Also, his contention that repressed carnal desires in the psyche are responsible for much of the adults' actions was a monumental inroad in clinical psychology. His psychoanalytical theory of the Id, Ego, and Superego is one of the most influential theories of modern times.

Another extremely influential theory is modern times is that of Charles Darwin, whose theory of evolution and its basic mechanism, Natural selection, has greatly changed people's thinking about many issues in human behavior.

user profile pic

salimj | College Teacher | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted July 11, 2012 at 9:47 AM (Answer #8)

dislike 1 like

1. Jesus 2. Karl Marxs 3. Issac Newton 4. Martin Luther 5. Martin Luther King 6. Plato 7. Mother Teresa 8. Mahatma Gandhi 9. Che 10. Jinna

user profile pic

thisuserhasmadeabadusername | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted July 17, 2012 at 1:36 PM (Answer #10)

dislike 1 like
- Abraham - many founders of monotheistic religions descended from him
   
- Gutenberg - printing press, soooo important
     
- Newton - helped form the foundations of calculus and physics
     
- Einstein - his theories lead to the making of nuclear weapons
     
- Princip - spark that caused WWI, which lead to WWII, which lead to the Cold War, which explains how the world is like today
     
user profile pic

teejaydee | Student, Undergraduate | eNotes Newbie

Posted July 18, 2012 at 3:11 AM (Answer #11)

dislike 1 like

In the past millenium:

1. Gutenberg - invented the printing press - allowed for ideas to be spread to the masses

2. Christopher Columbus - discovered America 

3. Martin Luther - Protestant Reformation

4. Galileo - Italian thinker, scientist - invented telescope and proved heliocentric universe

5. William Shakespeare - father of literature, performance arts - invented thousands of words

6. Isaac Newton - founded many of the laws of physics, gravity

7. Charles Darwin - author of the Theory of Evolution

8. St. Thomas Aquinas - father of modern philosophy, ethics, natural law

9. Leonardo Da Vinci - Italian artist, inventor, scientist - the perfect example of a Renaissance Man 

10. Ludwig Van Beethoven - German composer - most famous and influential of all composers

Honourable Mentions Throughout History:

Jesus, Muhammad, Ghandi, Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, Adam Smith, John Locke, Thomas Hobbes, Nicholas Copernicus, Albert Einstein, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Napoleon Bonaparte.....there are countless.

 

user profile pic

nikasho0100 | Student, Grade 12 | (Level 1) Salutatorian

Posted July 22, 2012 at 8:30 AM (Answer #12)

dislike 1 like

Luca pacioli

Albert Einstien

Adam smith

All religious leaders

Sir Isaac newton

charles dawin

Cesar

and so on.........

 

user profile pic

astrosonu | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted July 23, 2012 at 10:08 AM (Answer #13)

dislike 1 like

I think it is all the the famous scientists -

Edison.

Einstien.

Grahambell.

Gelileo.

Newton.


And many inventors...............

user profile pic

helgacabbage | eNotes Newbie

Posted July 24, 2012 at 10:53 PM (Answer #14)

dislike 1 like

I would go with the list by Rrteacher (post #2) and put Mohammad on the top.

Pohnpei has an interesting post above suggesting to look for the worst too. Hitler and Stalin are reasonable candidates for the mass killings. However he has conveniently forgotten to include the American regimes in past twenty years or so that has destabilised the world, disrupted peace and brought misery & sufferings to Muslims in the name of WMDs, so called war on terror and preemptive strikes resulting in massive killings of Muslims and American/Allies soldiers.


It is unfair to say that post 2 'conveniently forgot' to talk about your own opinions. The question asks for the most influential people, and nobody would list 'the American regimes of the last 20 years' as that is not a person.
You clearly feel very strongly on the subject of WMDs and Muslim persecution, however I think your feelings may have clouded your judgement in this instance.

In answer to the main question:
I would have to agree with the commenter who listed Shakespeare - that's a great one! So many of the words we use today are a product of his inventiveness.

It is hard to pick only 10, but I would probably have to include the following:

Lord Buddha
William Shakespeare
William Wilberforce
Marie Curie
Adolf Hitler
Winston Churchill
Charles Darwin
Galileo Galilei
Beethoven
Louis Pasteur


user profile pic

lhc | Middle School Teacher | (Level 3) Educator

Posted July 27, 2012 at 12:25 AM (Answer #15)

dislike 1 like

So many great names mentioned in previous posts.  I'm thinking Osama bin Laden.  Not that he deserves kudos for his life and work, but if the criteria is that it in some way changed the world, I think one could make the argument that his leadership, organizational skills, resource management, and hate-mongering achieved a notorious end that was an international and political game-changer to say the least. 

user profile pic

astrosonu | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted July 27, 2012 at 10:23 AM (Answer #16)

dislike 1 like

Stephen Hawking.

user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted July 29, 2012 at 8:42 AM (Answer #17)

dislike 1 like

Galileo Galiel.

user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted July 29, 2012 at 12:32 PM (Answer #18)

dislike 1 like

Albert Einetein

Stephen Hawking

Galilio Galieli

Barack Obama

Mahatma Gandhi

Joan of Arc

Alexander Grahambell

Robert Feynnman

Archemedis

Issac Newton

user profile pic

eagerbeaver | Student, Grade 9 | (Level 1) Honors

Posted July 30, 2012 at 8:52 PM (Answer #19)

dislike 1 like

I can't think of ten, but some that would be included in my list would be

-hitler

-stalin

-martin luther king

-mahatma gandhi ( i think that's how you spell it:) !

The guy who changed my world:

-michael phelps♥ luv this guy to death!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! seriously, the olympics wont be the same with out him and honestly in my opinion, i don't think i'm gonna be able to watch them with the same level of enthusiasm and excitement. i like pray every nite tht he doesn't disappoint his fans, team, country, world and himself by not going to the next summer olympics. i want him to realize how important he is. he's gonna regret this down the road..im already regretting his decision:( please michael!!!! don't leave us, ur my favorite olympian of all time and will always be. find that passion in side of you again. people kill for a one time oppurtunity at the olympics and you're just giving it away. please, if not for me or your fans, or country or coach or world, for yourself. london olympics are not the way you want the world to remember you as. go the next summer olympics, have another olympics like bejing and show the world who michael phelps is! you've really changed my perspective on things and now i want you to realize that you're making a mistake!

user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted July 31, 2012 at 2:49 PM (Answer #20)

dislike 1 like

Yes! it is martin luther king

user profile pic

andypandy143 | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted August 1, 2012 at 7:17 AM (Answer #21)

dislike 1 like

Well so far i believe that these people are the ones who changed the World:

1. Jesus

2. Martin Luther King

3. Nelson Mandela

4. Mahumad Ali

5. Moses

6. Mary MacKillop

7. Albert Einstine

8. Issac Newton

9. Mother Teresar

10. Mary Mother of Jesus Christ our Saviour

user profile pic

mad-e | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) Honors

Posted August 1, 2012 at 10:35 AM (Answer #22)

dislike 1 like

Thomas alva edison...no lights without him.

Leonardo da vinci...so many inventions.

Christopher Columbus...discovered americas.

Shakespeare...so much in literature.

Obama...stopped a major part of terrorism.

Abraham Lincoln...Stoppped slavery.

Other national heroes are very important like Mahatma Gandhi who changed the life of Indians.

Me...will change the world in future..!!

user profile pic

lochana2500 | TA , Undergraduate | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted August 3, 2012 at 7:02 AM (Answer #26)

dislike 1 like
  • Albert Einstein
user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted August 3, 2012 at 4:49 PM (Answer #27)

dislike 1 like

Hey Hey! What the hell are you saying. you are saying that Plato is einstein.

 

 

 

user profile pic

prashantl | Student, Grade 9 | (Level 1) Honors

Posted August 6, 2012 at 10:47 AM (Answer #30)

dislike 1 like

I think the greatest one arguably should be Aryabhatta, because without the zero that he sort of invented and discovered, half of the things around you would not exist today. 

user profile pic

academy633 | College Teacher | (Level 1) Salutatorian

Posted August 6, 2012 at 1:36 PM (Answer #32)

dislike 1 like
It is difficult to name ten people who have had the greatest impact on our lives.  I have divided my list among five areas (there may be more) and listed those who have had the greatest impact on me. 

Religion                Philosophy             Politics             Science      Arts

Abraham              Aristotle                Washington      da Vincil     Rembrandt 

Moses                 Plato                      Jefferson          Newton      Michelangelo

Jesus                  Locke                     Madison           Einstein      Dali

Muhammad          Marx                      Stalin               Darwin       van Gogh

Luther                 Nietsche                 Hitler               Freud         FL Wright

ML King               Whitehead              Napoleon         Salk           Monet

Gandhi                                             Mao                 Galileo

                                                                             Sabin

                                                                             W Reed

 

user profile pic

favorite-son-of-the-humanities | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted August 6, 2012 at 2:39 PM (Answer #33)

dislike 1 like

It seems to me that the answers to the OP are giving a bit too much historical significance to those who were the products (as opposed to the creators) of their times. It is ludicrous, for example, to say that Princip deserves to be mentioned in the same sentence as Churchill and Jesus as an individual who changed history because he "caused" WW1; any one with even a rudimentary grounding in Euro history could tell you that he was merely the catalyst for a conflict with decades-old roots in German nationalist. Had the workings of providence conspired to remove him from the historical equation, a similar conflict would have erupted, delayed for a few years at most, initiated by a comparable nonentity. In a similar vein,  scientists should not be remembered as "game changers" because science is purportedly objective; that is to say, without Einstein there could still be relativity whereas without Joyce there can be no Ulysses. Though scientific inventions may affect history, they are not synonymous with great scientists.

The people that most affect history, as far as I am concerned, are philosophers, for ultimately the direction a society takes is determined by philosophy. This is because the three primary fields of human achievement---art, science and politics---are all fundamentally products, in their advanced forms, of philosophy (e.g. Socratic method leads to the scientific method, art reflects philosophical traditions, politics is based on ideological struggles). 

user profile pic

favorite-son-of-the-humanities | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted August 6, 2012 at 2:46 PM (Answer #34)

dislike 1 like

Specific philosophers that changed history greatly would be:

---Jesus of Nazareth (central figure of western history)

---Socrates 

---Karl Marx

---Confucius

---Muhammad

----John Locke

After philosophers in importance would be great leaders. Of particular note:

---Abraham Lincoln

---Winston Churchill

---FDR

---Joseph Stalin

----Themosticles (sp)

---Cardinal Richelieu

----Elizabeth I

----George Washington

---Peter the Great

---Pitt the elder

user profile pic

rrteacher | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted August 6, 2012 at 3:04 PM (Answer #35)

dislike 1 like

While I picked philsophers and religious thinkers in my response, the idea that it is "ludicrous" that common people can affect history is pretty much at odds with the past 40 years of historiography. People's actions may be shaped by larger forces, but post 33 seems to think that human agency plays little role in history. Further, in his zeal to discredit another perfectly legitimate argument, favorite son of the humanities also ignores a major contradiction in his own. If Gavrilo Princip can be dismissed as merely a product of larger historical forces, then so can Socrates. But ultimately, it does not diminish the genius of Socrates, Locke, Marx, or Mill to point out the obvious fact that their thought was influenced by underlying social factors. The ideologies that politics is "based on" were not formed in a vacuum. 

user profile pic

favorite-son-of-the-humanities | Student, Grade 10 | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted August 6, 2012 at 3:35 PM (Answer #36)

dislike 1 like

@RR teacher: hmmm, I wasn't phrasing my argument in a common/extraordinary dichotomy, but in retrospect that's a fair classification of it. I would say that the reason I fundamentally don't see everyone's beloved "common man" as affecting history profoundly is that we are comparing apples and oranges: while average joes may be capable of actions they are incapable of creating ideas, which have wider and deeper consequences. Sure you can argue causality, but only a fool would say that the fleeting actions of a madman have the same relevance after 2000 years as the musings of a brilliant thinker. Regardless of the flow of causality, ideas>actions.

user profile pic

rrteacher | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted August 6, 2012 at 5:21 PM (Answer #37)

dislike 1 like

Favorite son of the humanities: My point was mainly that we shouldn't be so reductionist as to say that ideas are prime movers. They are formed in specific contexts. You said Princip was, essentially, a product of historical forces, or, to put it another way, his environment. I'm saying we should recognize that philosophers are too. I'm also not persuaded that common people are incapable of creating ideas. Social historians have written reams about concepts such as "moral economies" that have been at least as consequential in Western society as canonical "great ideas." 

user profile pic

angel-girl | Student, Undergraduate | (Level 1) Salutatorian

Posted August 7, 2012 at 2:05 PM (Answer #38)

dislike 1 like

Jesus! :)

Mother Theresa

Gandhi(?)

Newton and his apple!

Steve Jobs and the lovely apple gadgets

The first few emperors in China

Adolf Hitler (note: I didn't say whether in a good or bad way)

Who can forget Einstein?

That's all I know :))

user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted August 7, 2012 at 3:35 PM (Answer #39)

dislike 1 like

ah! it is absulutely right.

 

Issac Newton

 

Johannes Kepler

 

Albert Einstein

 

they were all very important people in science and should be at the top ten.

user profile pic

shehzaadi | Student, Undergraduate | (Level 1) eNoter

Posted July 13, 2012 at 6:50 PM (Answer #9)

dislike 0 like

I am agree with all the above posts but I would like to give the top rank to most respected MOHAMMAD not because I am a muslim but without any exaggeration Prophet MOHAMMAD really influenced the humanity.

user profile pic

jackie110 | Student, Grade 10 | eNotes Newbie

Posted August 1, 2012 at 8:00 PM (Answer #24)

dislike 0 like

i agree with those that have been said :] no particular order. also, id asy tupac and biggie smallz. they changes the world in  music ^.^ 

Jesus

Mother Teresa

 Che

Issac Newton

Einstein

Martin Luther King

 Muhammad

Plato

hitler

Galileo

tupac:]

user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted August 2, 2012 at 3:58 AM (Answer #25)

dislike 0 like

Who is Plato?

user profile pic

lochana2500 | TA , Undergraduate | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted August 4, 2012 at 12:58 PM (Answer #28)

dislike 0 like

No i didn't mean that..I didn't reply to your question..It's my post to this discussion..

user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted August 4, 2012 at 3:32 PM (Answer #29)

dislike 0 like

Oh! Sorry.  Now I know who is Plato.

 

Bandmanjoe said me.

user profile pic

danishgondal786 | Student, Undergraduate | eNotes Newbie

Posted July 4, 2012 at 9:17 AM (Answer #7)

dislike -1 like

I'll throw a few in in no particular order. Most of these stimulated religious, intellectual, or cultural change:

  • Jesus
  • Muhammad
  • Plato
  • Gutenberg
  • Luther
  • Paul
  • Newton
  • Galileo
  • Einstein
  • Marx
  • Locke

i am agree with this post because all that was in my mind is posted here,here i want to say that MOHAMMAD changed the world as no one did as a muslim it is right to me but i don't expect this to everyone secondly our great scientists changed the world becouse of them we are now better then our ancestors i want to mention some scientist .Newton  and Einstine i respect them and there research

 

user profile pic

astrosonuthird | Student | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted August 1, 2012 at 12:41 PM (Answer #23)

dislike -1 like

ha ha!

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes