Homework Help

In your opinion, what is the real meaning of love?I'm doing this for a class and we got...

user profile pic

mrromantic | Student, Undergraduate | eNotes Newbie

Posted February 24, 2010 at 9:43 AM via web

dislike 3 like
In your opinion, what is the real meaning of love?

I'm doing this for a class and we got the chance to pick our own topic and I chose to do a topic on love. Its about what people think really is.

18 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

pohnpei397 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted February 24, 2010 at 9:48 AM (Answer #2)

dislike 1 like

To me, love is accepting the other person as they are and not asking them to be someone else.  I don't mean that people in love can't ask each other to change in minor ways, but love, to me, means being able to accept who the other person really is.

When you are truly in love with a person (again, just my opinion) you are free to really be yourself without worrying that the other person is judging you and being critical of you.

When my wife and I were first going together, I knew there were things wrong with me (immaturity, mostly -- I was only 18 after all) but I also knew that she accepted me as is.  I worked to change, but not because she made me.

So, to me love is feeling that the other person totally accepts who you really are (and it is totally accepting the other person...).

user profile pic

giorgiana1976 | College Teacher | Valedictorian

Posted February 24, 2010 at 10:33 AM (Answer #3)

dislike 1 like

To love is the law of life itself, is one of the most sublime actions that a human being is capable of . Love can accompany all  our fundamental actions. If we teach full of love (with passion) we save and we will understand more easily. If we listen with love, we hear more and much better. If we speak with love, our words will gain an unimaginably large force. If we sleep with love in our souls, our sleep will be restful and deep as a child sleep.

As long as we ask something in return of our love, it means that we have not exceeded the ego. How can fit unlimited into something limited? As long as we are selfish, our love is not love.
It is something that looks like love but it's not love. It can be sexual attraction, pity,respect, the need to preserve or protect, but it's not love. In all these, we call it love, but they are anything but limited reflexes of unlimited love. Learning to love truly, without asking anything in return for our love, that's love!

user profile pic

acompanioninthetardis | Student, Undergraduate | Valedictorian

Posted May 28, 2014 at 2:16 AM (Answer #17)

dislike 1 like

love is when you feel comfortable enough with someone to speak your mind freely and you can become selfless for them, in some ways. love is having your best friend as your partner. Love can also be with things, you can love food, like me, because it makes you feel good. Love basically makes you feel good, about yourself, about others, and about your relationships. 

user profile pic

nusratfarah | Valedictorian

Posted February 24, 2010 at 1:38 PM (Answer #4)

dislike 0 like

Love is the opposite of apathy. But, if I take the topic more personally, I really do not believe that there is purity and respect in love among humans. I think genuine love is extremely rare in today's world. And, love can have different meanings regarding varied relationships, for example: parent-child relationship, teacher-pupil relationship, husband-wife or boyfriend-girlfriend relationship, brother-brother or sister-sister relationship, or brother-sister relationship. Love's meaning, in my opinion, is not confined within the love-affair of a couple. In fact, there is love, in a broader sense, between God and the humans. It is love which makes us real human, not robot.

user profile pic

krishna-agrawala | College Teacher | Valedictorian

Posted February 24, 2010 at 8:23 PM (Answer #5)

dislike 0 like

Love is often associated with the desire for the the object of love. This is true to the extent that a person definitely feels the desire for the object of love. However this desire is often confused with love. The fact is that the desire and love are two different things and the desire can exist without love also.

To me the essence of love is feeling of strong liking, admiration and other similar emotion which lead to a desire for serving the object of love rather than having the object of love. Thus the actions prompted by love are not attempts to own or acquire what you love, or even attempts to win the love of the loved one. The action prompted by true love is to serve, and protect what you love, in making the person you love happy, rather than expect him or her to make you happy by loving you. The true joy of love is in loving and and not in being loved.

user profile pic

drmonica | (Level 2) Associate Educator

Posted February 25, 2010 at 7:23 AM (Answer #6)

dislike 0 like

What a great question! Love is an unconditional acceptance of the other person, characterized by fondness and attachment. Simply being in the presence of the other person brings you happiness and contentment. When you experience real love for another, you don't expect anything from the person in return.

user profile pic

epollock | Valedictorian

Posted February 25, 2010 at 8:14 AM (Answer #7)

dislike 0 like

Love means feeling for someone that is so great that one lives in making the person better in every way possible. Living to help others always helps everyone in the end. By putting people first, one ends up bettering their own position as well.

user profile pic

lrwilliams | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator

Posted February 25, 2010 at 4:24 PM (Answer #8)

dislike 0 like

Love is unconditional. I think there are different kinds of love. There is the type of love you feel for your spouse or mate. There is also the love you feel for your children, which I feel is different even from the love you feel towards other family members.

user profile pic

mrromantic | Student, Undergraduate | eNotes Newbie

Posted February 26, 2010 at 9:54 AM (Answer #9)

dislike 0 like

I chose this topic because the kids here at this school thinks that love is  ALL ABOUT SEX and I don't like that.so when we present our presentation, they will know the real meaning of love. Some here also call me a punk because I treat women with respect. I have a saying, that says "In order to get respect from a woman, you have to respect yourself. I'm not takin care of no babies. I'm only 17 years old and I'm waiting until I'm married.

user profile pic

nusratfarah | Valedictorian

Posted February 26, 2010 at 10:02 AM (Answer #10)

dislike 0 like

In order to get respect from anybody else, whether that be man or woman, you have to have that personality and dignity.

And your views are already very admirable. Keep it up.

user profile pic

marbar57 | Elementary School Teacher | (Level 3) Associate Educator

Posted February 26, 2010 at 12:48 PM (Answer #11)

dislike 0 like
In your opinion, what is the real meaning of love?

I'm doing this for a class and we got the chance to pick our own topic and I chose to do a topic on love. Its about what people think really is.

  What I know about love is that when you do things for people, you love them.  Take a mother for example.  She conceives that child and nurtures it inside herself for nine months.  It's not always a pleasant nine months and has its dangers to her health.  But the joy she feels at the prospect of becoming a mother knows no bounds!  When that child is born, she "goes down into the valley of death" to bring it into this world.  Many mothers have died giving birth to their children, but it's the ultimate sacrifice!  Then, she spends the next twenty or so years serving that child until he or she is old enough to take care of themselves.  To me, that is true love!

 

user profile pic

sfg13165 | Student, College Freshman | Honors

Posted February 27, 2010 at 2:18 PM (Answer #12)

dislike 0 like

What is love? Well, thats a hard question to answer. But I think love is something you feel, and the only way to know you love someone, is to feel like you cant be with out them, or when their sad you might want to cheer them up. Love is unconditional and love is blind, it has no color, shape, or race. well thats all i really think i know about love. I hope that helped a lil bit.

user profile pic

catzeye | Student, Undergraduate | eNotes Newbie

Posted March 2, 2010 at 12:08 AM (Answer #13)

dislike 0 like

for me.. love is having the sense of otherness. but we all know the rule "you cannot give what you do not have" thus, being other-oriented is also being self-oriented. love is all about CONTRIBUTING

user profile pic

akh6777 | eNotes Newbie

Posted March 8, 2010 at 12:57 PM (Answer #14)

dislike 0 like

Love is to accept someone for everything they are. Love is to see a person's flaws and to love them anyway.  Love is not always passionate, but accepting.  As love tempers it becomes less of a fire and more of a flame.  It is an agreement between two people to honor each other and care for them no matter what. 

user profile pic

jdslinky | High School Teacher | (Level 2) Adjunct Educator

Posted March 10, 2010 at 7:38 AM (Answer #15)

dislike 0 like

The real meaning of love is based on the relationship because there are different types of love. For example, love between a man and woman (or romantic couple) differs from love between a parent and child. However, in the romantic sense, I think the meaning of love is that which makes you whole. Not to sound cheesy, but if the person makes you realize the good things about your life and the world, then it's love.

user profile pic

loraaa | Student | Valedictorian

Posted May 12, 2012 at 11:15 AM (Answer #16)

dislike 0 like

well,

Love is love... ^_*

user profile pic

jess1999 | TA , Grade 9 | Valedictorian

Posted July 17, 2014 at 1:26 PM (Answer #18)

dislike 0 like

To me love is when you are definitely comfortable and like to be around the other person . You accept who they really are and they are able to accept who you really are . Love though doesn't have to mean that you're in a relationship since loving your family and friends also count. .

user profile pic

crystaltu001 | Student, Grade 10 | Valedictorian

Posted August 16, 2014 at 5:18 AM (Answer #19)

dislike 0 like

To me love is when there is a person you think you can always trust and you like being around . Love is when you are comfortable and you feel like you can act or be yourself when you are around them and they wouldn't care how you act and they would accept who you are. 

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes