Homework Help

In your opinion, what is the healthiest breakfast?I want to compare peoples anwers.

user profile pic

animallover14 | Student, Grade 8 | Honors

Posted January 1, 2012 at 6:25 AM via web

dislike 1 like
In your opinion, what is the healthiest breakfast?

I want to compare peoples anwers.

Tagged with discussion, health

11 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

lmetcalf | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Senior Educator

Posted January 1, 2012 at 11:16 AM (Answer #3)

dislike 0 like

I love steel cut oatmeal with bananas cut into it. I make it with milk for the flavor and extra calcium. When I eat other breakfast things like box cereal or anything high carb such as a bagel, I find myself hungry all day, and I am hungry for junky food to boot!

user profile pic

coachingcorner | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Educator

Posted January 1, 2012 at 4:37 PM (Answer #4)

dislike 0 like

I too am going with oats! They are my favourite either as hot porridge flakes or as muesli - my current favourite. Health-wise, not only do they do reduce cholesterol but also line the stomach with a gentle protective gel, making people feel fuller for longer and helping weight loss plans!

user profile pic

accessteacher | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted January 1, 2012 at 4:38 PM (Answer #5)

dislike 0 like

Personally, I think you need to have some sort of grain without too much added refined sugar. One of the problems with so many boxed cereals is that, while they contain grain, they contain masses of additives that are not healthy. Therefore, something like oatmeal or granola without too much sugar is a great way to start the day.

user profile pic

litlady33 | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Assistant Educator

Posted January 1, 2012 at 11:11 PM (Answer #6)

dislike 0 like

A good balance of protein and grain always makes for a healthy breakfast. You want something that will fill you up and get you going for your day. You also want to have a substantial breakfast because this is what will get your metabolism going. My go-to breakfast is an egg and whole-wheat toast with some fruit and yogurt (non-fat, only a little sugar or sweetener). That takes care of your protein, grain, and fruit. Whatever you are eating for breakfast, you should definitely eat SOMETHING, otherwise your metabolism won't get going, and you'll be hungrier and without energy for the rest of the day.

user profile pic

bullgatortail | High School Teacher | (Level 1) Distinguished Educator

Posted January 2, 2012 at 12:24 AM (Answer #7)

dislike 0 like

Being a native Southerner, my favorite breakfast is bacon, sausage, eggs and grits--washed down with a big glass of milk. Needless to say, it is probably not the healthiest breakfast, but tens of millions of people eat something similar each day. When I try to eat healthily, I eat a bowl of Special K with lowfat milk and some fruit and yogurt. I also drink coffee every morning, and I find it an even greater way of jump-starting my body each new day.

user profile pic

wannam | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Educator

Posted January 2, 2012 at 2:37 AM (Answer #8)

dislike 0 like

I would say a healthy breakfast should contain both protein and fiber without excessive carbs.  Oatmeal is a great healthy breakfast.  Some cereals are healthy but many contain high amounts of carbohydrates and sugar.  Yogurt with granola can be another healthy breakfast.  Personally, I enjoy a banana for breakfast.  It has a lot of potassium and some fiber.

user profile pic

litteacher8 | Middle School Teacher | (Level 1) Distinguished Educator

Posted January 2, 2012 at 12:08 PM (Answer #9)

dislike 0 like
I think the healthiest breakfast depends on the individual. For example, I am allergic to oatmeal. Whole grains, protein and a lack of sugar are usually good bets. Fruit works too. For me, the healthiest breakfast is easy to take on the go, otherwise I'll eat something unhealthy or not at all.
user profile pic

vangoghfan | College Teacher | (Level 2) Educator Emeritus

Posted January 2, 2012 at 12:43 PM (Answer #10)

dislike 0 like

Well, reading these posts has certainly made me look forward to breakfast tomorrow!  Seriously, I agree that whole grains and fruit are best. I am lucky to be married to someone who makes the best banana and whole wheat pancakes on the planet -- an ideal combo, in my opinion!

user profile pic

pacorz | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Educator

Posted January 2, 2012 at 9:55 PM (Answer #11)

dislike 0 like

While whole grains are a super choice, most nutritionists suggest getting a serving of protein and a little fat into breakfast as well, since the combination will provide both a quick boost of energy to start the day and also nutritional staying power to carry you through to lunchtime without a slump. Your pancakes, which probably include egg in the mix and some butter on top, definitely qualify!

My personal go-to breakfast is oatmeal with some fruit and nut muesli mixed in, made with 2% milk. I eat pretty early, so I usually have a piece of fruit a couple of hours later.

user profile pic

trophyhunter1 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Senior Educator

Posted January 15, 2012 at 12:04 AM (Answer #12)

dislike 0 like

I think a serving of fruit, some protein and some complex carbohydrates are a healthy breakfast. A whole grain cereal, with skim milk and fresh fruit, along with some juice is a healthy breakfast. Or, fresh fruit and Greek yogurt. Or, an egg-white omelet and wheat toast with fresh fruit.

user profile pic

dennishobson | Student , Undergraduate | eNotes Newbie

Posted March 26, 2012 at 3:19 AM (Answer #13)

dislike 0 like
In your opinion, what is the healthiest breakfast?

I want to compare peoples anwers.

 

me too !!

..pallet..

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes