Homework Help

Who were the signatories of the NAFTA treaty?

user profile pic

nhl123 | Student, Grade 11 | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted May 3, 2012 at 2:43 AM via web

dislike 0 like

Who were the signatories of the NAFTA treaty?

1 Answer | Add Yours

user profile pic

pohnpei397 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted May 3, 2012 at 2:49 AM (Answer #1)

dislike 1 like

The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) is an agreement that is meant to create a free trade zone among the countries of the continent of North America.  Therefore, it is an agreement between the United States of America, Canada, and Mexico.

The treaty was signed in August of 1991.  The treaty was signed by the men who were at that time the heads of state of the three countries.  These were President George H. W. Bush for the United States, Prime Minister Brian Mulroney for Canada, and President Carlos Salinas de Gortari for Mexico.

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes