Homework Help

What goes on in each stage of mitosis?

monkeyhead's profile pic

Posted via web

dislike 1 like

What goes on in each stage of mitosis?

1 Answer | Add Yours

ako6777's profile pic

Posted (Answer #1)

dislike 1 like

There are 6 stages of mitosis:

  1. Interphase-DNA has replicated, but has not formed the condensed structure of chromosome.
  2. Prophase-DNA molecules progressivly shorten by coiling, to form chromosomes.
  3. Metaphase-the spindle fibres attach themselves to the centromeres of the chromosomes and align the chromosomes at the equatorial plate.
  4. Anaphase-the spindle fibres shorten and the centromere splits, separated sister chromatids are pulled along behind the centromeres.
  5. Telophase-the chromosomes reach the poles of their respective spindles. Nuclear envelope reform before the chromosomes uncoil. The spindle fibres disintegrate.
  6. Cytokinasis-the process of splitting the daughter cells apart. A furrow forms and the cell is pinched in two. Each daughter cell contains the same number and same quality of chromosomes.

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes