What is the fine amount for a no proof of liability insurance while driving ticket in the state of Iowa?
1 Answer | Add Yours
Under Iowa Code 321.20B, the penalty for not showing proof of insurance depends on whether you actually had insurance at the time of the citation.
If you can show the clerk of the court proof that you had financial liability coverage at the time ticket was issued -- you merely didn’t have the insurance card (or other form of proof) with you -- you can get the citation dropped for a $15 administrative fee.
If you didn’t have insurance at the time of the citation, the fine will be $250.
Disclaimer: This post contains general legal information and should not be construed as legal advice to be applied to any specific factual situation. Each reader should consult a lawyer if you want a qualified professional’s assurance that this information, and your interpretation of it, is appropriate to your particular situation.
Join to answer this question
Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.Join eNotes