Homework Help

What awards did Julie of the wolves receive?

user profile pic

hellmonster2 | eNotes Newbie

Posted April 9, 2010 at 6:16 AM via web

dislike 0 like

What awards did Julie of the wolves receive?

1 Answer | Add Yours

Top Answer

user profile pic

mkcapen1 | Middle School Teacher | (Level 3) Valedictorian

Posted April 9, 2010 at 8:34 AM (Answer #1)

dislike 1 like

The book Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George was a recipient of the John Newberry Golden Medal Award.   This award is generally called the Newberry Award.

The Newberry Award is given by the Association for Library Service to Children which is a division of the American Library Association.  The medal was created in 1921 and is presented once a year for the best children's book.  The winners are usually writers who write towards an audience of 5-8th graders.

Julie of the Wolves received the medal in 1973.  Another example of an awarding winning story from more recent times is the book Holes.

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes