Homework Help

I wanted to get another opinion to this question: To what extent was industrialization...

user profile pic

julietekell | Student, Grade 11 | eNoter

Posted October 20, 2011 at 12:13 AM via web

dislike 1 like
I wanted to get another opinion to this question: To what extent was industrialization the cause of the Revolutions of 1848 in Europe?

I wanted to get another opinion to this question: To what extent was industrialization the cause of the Revolutions of 1848 in Europe?

9 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

stolperia | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted October 20, 2011 at 2:51 AM (Answer #2)

dislike 0 like

Industrialization played a major role in causing the unrest in areas of Europe in the mid-1800s. Factories came into existence in urban areas because that was where the money was to invest in building such facilities. Large numbers of formerly rural farm workers moved to the cities in search of jobs at the new factories - many more people than job openings, which led to widespread unemployment with the related difficulties of people who couldn't pay for housing, food, and other basic necessities. Unrest was heightened as the unemployed new city dwellers began demanding a voice in the government but were shut out of the voting process by requirements that required voters to be land owners.

The first European nation to begin addressing these problems was Great Britain, where the Industrial Revolution began. France reached crisis point and faced its crisis in 1848.

user profile pic

litteacher8 | Middle School Teacher | (Level 1) Distinguished Educator

Posted October 20, 2011 at 10:10 AM (Answer #3)

dislike 0 like

Industrialization made everything mass-produced, and moved people from the farms where they owned a small piece of land to the factory where they worked for someone else.

Industrialization impacted revolutions because it increases the discrepancy between the haves and the have-nots. There is a stronger sense of exploitation of workers in a factory system. The owners are faceless and distant.

user profile pic

accessteacher | High School Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted October 20, 2011 at 8:41 PM (Answer #4)

dislike 0 like

As #2 makes clear, we can definitely say that the process of Industrialisation, and the accompanying loss of work and malcontent that occurred as a result, can be said to be one of the factors that helped create a situation of massive unrest and discontent amongst populations who suddenly found themselves out of work and facing poverty. Let us remember that violence had already broken out in response to industrialisation with the Luddites, who destroyed machines because of the way in which they robbed people of jobs and work.

user profile pic

julietekell | Student, Grade 11 | eNoter

Posted October 20, 2011 at 10:12 PM (Answer #5)

dislike 0 like
Is it also true that the reason Great Britain did not undergo a revolution in 1848 is because they had already made a few reforms which slightly appeased the working class? And that France, by 1848, had already experienced so many different types of government by 1848, that the country, as a whole, was unstable, unlike Great Britain, whose government had remained strong and stable up to 1848, so people were hesitant to challenge it? I'm just trying to see if I'm interpreting my textbook correctly.
user profile pic

julietekell | Student, Grade 11 | eNoter

Posted October 20, 2011 at 10:16 PM (Answer #6)

dislike 0 like
Is it also true that by moving into cities to work in factories, and the ensuing overpopulation, people were forced to live in very unsanitary conditions with overcrowding, pollution, lack of medical intervention, etc., which resulted in increased frustration, oppression, depression, disease, illegitimate children being born, etc.?
user profile pic

julietekell | Student, Grade 11 | eNoter

Posted October 20, 2011 at 10:20 PM (Answer #7)

dislike 0 like
What was going on in the rural areas at the time of industrialization that made them move to the cities and take on factory work? Was it just because the factories were making products cheaper and faster and outsourcing craftsmen? Or, was something going on with agriculture and farmibg, too?
user profile pic

julietekell | Student, Grade 11 | eNoter

Posted October 20, 2011 at 10:29 PM (Answer #8)

dislike 0 like
My textbook says that in the 1830's Europe was headed toward an industrial society, that the years of 1830-1850 were years of uncertainty for almost everyone, that even the most confident entrepreneurs knew that the trade cycle might bankrupt them in a matter of weeks, and that for the industrial workers and the artisans, unemployment was a haunting and recurring problem. I don't understand why there was uncertainty for the entrepreneurs. Why did the trade cycle fluctuate? I can see why the peasants would be worried. I can see why the artisans would be worried.
user profile pic

vangoghfan | College Teacher | (Level 2) Educator Emeritus

Posted October 23, 2011 at 9:16 AM (Answer #9)

dislike 0 like

In trying to research an answer to the question you asked, I first went to Google, and then I went to Google Books (under the "More" tab). In Google Books, I typed "industrialization as a cause of revolutions of 1848."  I then hit the "search" button.  This search turned up some useful links, but they seemed almost too specific.  It then occurred to me that a broader search might be better.  I reasoned that if industrialization were indeed a cause of the 1848 revolutions (as I suspect it was), it was probably only one of a number of different causes that may have interacted with it in some ways.  So I did a simpler search -- for "causes of revolutions of 1848." Here's what I found; I hope it's helpful to you:

http://www.google.com/search?q=causes+of+revolutions+of+1848&btnG=Search+Books&tbm=bks&tbo=1

user profile pic

K.P.L. Hardison | College Teacher | eNotes Employee

Posted October 28, 2011 at 4:55 AM (Answer #10)

dislike 0 like

I'd say industrialization impacted the Revolutions of 1848 to a large extent. It was industrialization that changed workers' lifestyle causing unheard of pressures and abuses of their humanity. This may be seen as joined with the panoramic awareness brought about by the advent of the printing press and may be seen in light of the added pressure resulting from the liberal alterations in how governments operated. Lifestyle changes--and a seeming redefinition of the workers' humanity--enforced by industrialization provided the motive, proved the motivating factor, behind the uprisings that, though short-lived, swept the nations of Europe in 1848.

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes