Better Students Ask More Questions.
In North Carolina, what are the sentencing guidelines for a misdemeanor simple assault...
2 Answers | add yours
- No prior convictions: 1-30 days
- One to four prior convictions: 1-45 days
- Five or more prior convictions: 1-60 days
In North Carolina, a simple assault is a Class 2 misdemeanor [NC General Statutes 14.33(c)]. Like most other Class 2 misdemeanors, simple assault has a maximum sentence of 60 days [NCGS 15A-1340.23(c)], depending on the defendant's criminal past:
A judge can also impose a maximum fine of $1,000 [NCGS 15A-1340.23(b)].
A 2004 study showed that less than 25% of defendants convicted of Class 2 misdemeanors in North Carolina served jail time.
The assault charge would have been elevated to a Class 1A misdemeanor if a male had assaulted the 17-year-old female [NCGS 14.33(c)(2)] or if the mother had inflicted serious injury or used a deadly weapon on her daughter in the presence of a minor [NCGS 14.33(d)].
Disclaimer: This post contains general legal information and should not be construed as legal advice to be applied to any specific factual situation. Each reader should consult a lawyer if you want a qualified professional’s assurance that this information, and your interpretation of it, is appropriate to your particular situation.
Posted by urthona on July 29, 2008 at 10:01 PM (Answer #1)
In North Carolina for a misdimeanor it will be between 1-60 days and sometimes a fine.
Posted by jbrenw on September 29, 2011 at 2:50 AM (Answer #2)
Join to answer this question
Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.