Homework Help

The incident control system (ICS) and National Incident Management System (NIMS) are...

user profile pic

blopez994 | (Level 2) Honors

Posted July 2, 2013 at 9:05 AM via web

dislike 1 like

The incident control system (ICS) and National Incident Management System (NIMS) are together the baseline for responding to natural and man-made disasters in the U.S. Identify and discuss six key components of these systems and their effectiveness.

1 Answer | Add Yours

user profile pic

Kay Morse | College Teacher | (Level 1) Senior Educator

Posted July 2, 2013 at 10:32 PM (Answer #1)

dislike 1 like

There are six (6) components included in NIMS:

  • Command and Management
  • Preparedness
  • Resource Management
  • Communications and Information Management
  • Supporting Technologies
  • Ongoing Management and Maintenance (National Incident Management System, Department of Health)

Emergency responders at all levels of government must have procedures, protocols and processes that are consistent, tested, reliable, and uniform for effective emergency response. These six basic components provide responders such a uniform system. Further, these six components have become the basis of future emergency preparedness grants and training. As a result, future services and personnel will meet these uniform standards without remedial training as may be needed for previously implemented and trained programs and personnel.


Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes