Better Students Ask More Questions.
How or what can I do to appeal a small claims judgement in the state of Oklahoma? Or...
How or what can I do to appeal a small claims judgement in the state of Oklahoma? Or can I move it to higher court?
I recently found my missing 4yr. old dog for 18 months, called the sheriff he could not get the lady to answer door.Took her to small claims court, had two witness that she has my dog, police report, pictures of dog, vet records, and she could not even tell where she got dog. Judge NEVER even looked at my papers.Gives me a $100.00 dollars, I have to pay court cost and awards her my dog. I need to know if I can appeal, or what legal steps I can take. I just want my dog back.!!!
1 Answer | add yours
Best answer as selected by question asker.
Based on my brief review of Oklahoma law, it would appear that you need to file your appeal within 30 days of your hearing date. You should go to the clerk's office to obtain the paperwork and instructions for filing an appeal.
Your appeal will not be heard in the small claims court, however, so you are probably going to need to obtain legal counsel to make your way through the process.
Posted by prospero on May 26, 2008 at 2:15 AM (Answer #1)
Join to answer this question
Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.